Alberta.—The 157,595 sq. miles of provincial forest in Alberta are administered by the Alberta Forest Service of the Department of Lands and Forests at Edmonton. The Service, headed by the Director of Forestry, is composed of five Branches—Administration, Forest Protection, Forest Management, Forest Surveys and Planning, and Forestry Training. For ease of administration the forest area is divided into 11 Forests, each responsible for the forest within its boundaries. These Forests are composed of Ranger Districts in which all activities are supervised by the district forest officer responsible to his superintendent. Each Forest staff includes: forest superintendent, fire control officer and assistant, forester, mechanical foreman, carpenter foreman, equipment operators, scalers, land-use officers, radio operators, clerks, stenographers, and seasonal help such as standby fire crews, lookout men, general labourers and construction crews. Some Forests employ minimum security crews on management, protection and construction projects.

The Administration Branch supervises all branches, maintains general control over revenue and expenditure, maintains the equipment inventory and deals with personnel.

The Forest Protection Branch has charge of all phases of protection including prevention, detection, suppression and use of forest and prairie fires. The Branch also plans, supervises and executes the construction and maintenance of the road and building programs and supervises the radio communication facilities.

The functions of the Forest Management Branch include the acceptance and approval of management and annual operating plans prepared for leased and licensed Crown lands, implementation of management plans prepared by the Department, supervision of proper land-use practices and the disposal of Crown timber. This extends to all phases including processing of timber applications, selection of timber to be sold, cruising of merchantable timber, inspection of cutting areas to ensure proper logging and utilization practices, scaling of forest products, collection of dues and fees and reforestation programs for areas denuded by cutting and fire. It is also responsible for the implementation and supervision of the new timber quota system.

The Forest Surveys and Planning Branch maintains the provincial forest inventory and prepares and maintains detailed inventories by management units; prepares long- and short-term management plans; provides timber application forest-type maps; conducts other work pertaining to photogrammetry and forest-cover maps; develops and supervises recreational area plans; provides regulation of geophysical activities in the forest area; and provides technical drafting and mapping services.

The Forestry Training Branch prepares training material and conducts training programs for Departmental personnel and other persons concerned with activities of fire control, forest management, forest protection and conservation. It also provides the facilities and instruction for the second year of a two-year forest technology course provided by the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, and supervises the Provincial Junior Forest Ranger Program.

One Forest and part of two others are included in the Rocky Mountains Forest Reserve. This area is administered by the Alberta Forest Service but decisions of the Director of Forestry are based on policies of wise watershed regulation formed by the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board. The Board comprises one federal and two provincial members. This reserve includes part of the headwaters of the main Prairie Provinces river system. Research in general is carried out by the federal Department of Forestry and Rural Development, which maintains the Kananaskis Experiment Station.

British Columbia.—The productive forest land of British Columbia is inventoried (1958) at 208,411 sq. miles with an additional 59,227 sq. miles of forest land classed as non-productive. Of the productive area, immature timber occurs on 95,739 sq. miles; 84,275 sq. miles carry mature timber estimated at 251,000,000 M cu. ft.; and 28,397 sq. miles are unclassified, including areas of burn, cut-over or windfall not yet re-stocked.

For administrative purposes, the province is divided into five Forest Districts with regional headquarters at Vancouver, Prince Rupert, Prince George, Kamloops and Nelson.